I sowed dwarf beans at home in my kitchen.  They grew well and I hardened them off outside in the garden.  It should be mentioned that my garden is beside the sea, about 50 metros away.  This means, as my story will show, that the temperature is slightly milder than further inland.  The Countrywide Allotments are about one mile further inland.  When I felt that the beans were hardy enough, I brought the up to the Allotments and planted them.  Unfortunately, that slight difference in temperature made a sad difference to the little plants.  They were wind-whipped and broken, and they all died.  Never one to be daunted by such occurrences, I started again, this time planting the seed straight into the ground.  I await results.  It is much warmer now – and about a month later in the year.

Dwarf beans, wind-whipped and broken

Dwarf beans, wind-whipped and broken

