In the space vacated by the onions and the garlic I’ve planted the squashes I had been growing in pots at home.  They were well ready to go into the ground.  I gave each a good shovel full of a mixture of manure and compost at the bottom of the planting hole.  I have been using bottomless bottles stuck upside down in the pot with my tomatoes at home and am experimenting with this watering method for the squashes as well.  Only, I ran out of bottles, so for the moment the pot will have to do the job.   It ‘s a very handy way to give a good dose of water near the roots without needing to wet the leaves.

I am considering leaving the cap on the bottle, but punching some small holes in it so the water trickles down slower.

Hilde 14/07/2015

Pattipan and Kuri squash

Pattipan and Kuri squash

