Tonight I dug up my onions.  Unfortunately I had planted the sets a little bit too deep (afraid the birds would take them) and so they couldn’t dry up on top of the soil as I saw done in the neighbouring beds (they weren’t as cowardly about the birds as I was).  The onions are now  on racks in my greenhouse at home to drain the last of the goodness out of their greens and hopefully get dry enough for storage.  There are some big guys there!  The variety of the sets was Electric. (red onions).

I also harvested the garlic.  This is a soft neck variety, Marco, which I grew for the first time.  They’re not very large, which I don’t mind, but they got wet while they were already drying and they got a bit funky.   Being softneck, it was easy enough to wind their necks around a string and they’re now hung out to dry next to the onions in the greenhouse.

And then the broadbeans.  I grew two varieties, witkiem and purple guatemalan (seeds from Brown Envelope Seeds).  The witkiem pods are enormous and I harvested some.   The purple pods are nice and full, but much shorter.  I’m leaving them for another week or so.   See them in the background of the sneaky borage flowering amongst them.

Hilde

14/07/2015

Harvest 14 July 2015

Harvest 14 July 2015

borage and broadbeans

borage and broadbeans

